“Zero Dark Thirty” and Jessica Chastain

546984_10152443849490437_704537724_n

Well the nice thing about Twitter and Facebook is that plenty of other people take photographs and video of events for me, so I always have lasting souvenirs of these events. Here’s some photos from the Q&As I did with Jessica Chastain the day after she won the Golden Globe. And here’s a link to a video someone took of her talking about the Globe win.  (Ignore the fact they spelled my name wrong, it’s really me.) I was also honored to be the first person to host the Q&As they did for “Zero Dark Thirty” back in November; video highlights here.

I’ve known Jessica for about three years now, thanks to our mutual friend Octavia Spencer and the fact I had seen Jessica in “Salome” back in 2006. I claim no genius in predicting her stardom–anyone who saw that show knew she was on her way to a huge career.  She’s still magnetic on stage; back in December, I got to go see her on Broadway in “The Heiress,” which I thought was fantastic, despite some reviewers who disagreed. Going backstage to see Jessica, the first thing she said was, “Wait, I have to take my nose off!” (I didn’t even realize she was wearing a prosthetic. I’m just that perceptive.)

Anyway, the point of all this is to say that awhile back, I asked Jessica if she had happened to see the Adam Sandler movie “Jack and Jill.” I know, I’m going to get kicked out of the Pretentious Film Critics Society for liking “Jack and Jill,” but it’s actually REALLY FUNNY. And more to the point, in the film, her mentor and friend Al Pacino plays himself. And he’s hilarious in it, pursuing Jill–Adam Sandler in drag–and even singing and rapping  a song for Dunkin’ Donuts. I told her to go online and check out “Dunkacinno” for her own good.

She eventually did, and agreed it was magic. Pacino’s got moves. She kept promising to view the full film, but every time I checked in, she had yet to watch it.

Cut to the day after the Golden Globes. I hand her a wrapped package and say, “I know you’re going to get a lot of great swag this season, but I promise you nothing will top this.” She knew what it was before even opening it. Check out my unadulterated glee.

601144_10152452863195437_1577056144_n

5 thoughts on ““Zero Dark Thirty” and Jessica Chastain

  1. Hi, yes this article is genuinely good and I have learned lot of things from it regarding blogging.
    thanks.

  2. This allows the user to have the ability to look for a
    video file, music file, application file or all of the above.
    There is really a new variety of download site where you’ll be able to get
    not just movies on your Iphone but games and music too,
    and many types of for free. The basics within the main computer aren’t interrupted within the process and therefore help in high performance.

  3. You need to be a part of a contest for one of the finest blogs on the internet.
    I’m going to recommend this web site!

  4. It’s awesome in support of me to have a web page, which is
    useful in favor of my knowledge. thanks admin

  5. After looking at a few of the articles on your site, I honestly like your technique of blogging.

    I added it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the
    near future. Please check out my website too and tell me how you feel.

Leave a Reply

